Facebook allows you to check if your info was shared with Cambridge Analytica or not

Facebook now tells you whether your information was compromised by Cambridge Analytica’s personality test app “This Is Your Digital Life” or not – This move comes in light of the recent data-breach scandal that rocked the social network giant.

Cambridge Analytica app was able to capture not only your information but all your friends’ information, what helped the political propaganda company to own over 250 million profiles’ information on Facebook, which was used after that in segmenting these profiles and target them with fake news to influence US elections in 2016 in favor of Donald Trump.

A new help centre page is now accessible for all users around the world. If you would like to know whether you data was shared with Cambridge Analytica or not, visit this page.

Check your facebook profile now

If your information was not shared with Cambridge Analytica, you will get the following message:

“Based on our available records, neither you nor your friends logged into “This Is Your Digital Life.”
As a result, it doesn’t appear your Facebook information was shared with Cambridge Analytica by “This Is Your Digital Life.””

The new help centre page also advises users to review and update information that they share with apps and websites, all you need to do is checking your settings and revoke access to unwanted apps.

Last week, Facebook announced few changes and updates to its platform to decrease chances for any future data breach such as:

  • Pause app review for new Messenger bots.
  • Access to user friends requires Extended Login Review.
  • Facebook will conduct an in-depth review of its platform.
  • Notify people if an app is removed for data misuse.
  • Encourage people to manage the apps they use.
  • Require heightened terms for business-to-business applications.
  • Reward people who find vulnerabilities.